Ohio and Butler Counties in Western Kentucky

Ohio and Butler Counties are located in central Kentucky within the Diocese of Owensboro. Both counties have very small Catholic populations and a large number of people living in poverty. There are also many pockets of Spanish speakers in the two counties.

The Sisters’ mission is based in Morgantown, the county seat for Butler County. They attend Mass and work with the parishes of Holy Redeemer in Beaver Dam and Holy Trinity in Morgantown. The Sisters work with the religious education program and with sacramental preparation and provide transportation to appointments. They also serve as interpreters when needed. The Sisters are a resource contact for the various agencies in the area.

There are several opportunities for youth groups such as assisting at the two Catholic Churches.

In addition to being a Glenmary mission, this part of the state is also known as the birthplace of Bluegrass music. There are also many beautiful parks and natural areas within the region.